Office of Assessment, Accreditation, and Academic Program Planning

General Education Council



Welcome to the UNCG General Education Council website!

The General Education Council (GEC) is charged by Faculty Senate with the ongoing review
and maintenance of UNCG's General Education goals, assessment of student achievement of
those goals, oversight of General Education requirements, course approvals and
recertifications, as well as student appeals for General Education credit.

The General Education Program at UNCG is Minerva’s Academic Curriculum (MAC).
MAC is the common curriculum of the University and engages students in foundational,
competency-based learning the University deems essential to student success in college
and beyond. Please use the quick links to the right for more information about MAC
and related resources, processes, and policies.

Effective Fall 2023, the General Education Council has placed a moratorium on all MAC course proposals. Please email with any questions.

General Education Council Mission Statement:

A UNC Greensboro graduate should combine specialized education in a major with the skills, knowledge, and understanding necessary to be a lifelong learner, an ethical and independent decision maker, a critical and creative thinker, a clear and effective communicator, and a responsible citizen.

MAC program overview can be accessed here.
General Education advising resources can be accessed here.
General Education assessment process can be accessed here.


The General Education Council is composed of faculty from across the University, representing
each of the Schools and Colleges (except the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering).

Council members are appointed by the Provost on the recommendation of the Deans of the various
Schools and Colleges. Ex-officio, non-voting members are appointed by the Provost as needed.

Council Members For 2023-24
Jessica McCall (Chair) CAS: Communication Studies (2021-2024)
Hunter Bacot CAS: Political Science (2022-2025)
Sarah Cervenak CAS: Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies (2023-2026)
Jim Coleman CAS: Biology (2022-2025)
Gary Rosenkrantz CAS: Philosophy (2022-2025)
Cindy Brooks Dollar CAS: Sociology (2021-2024)
Jeff Sarbaum BRY: Economics (2023-2026)
Natalie Sowell CVPA: School of Theatre (2021-2024)
Izzet Lofca SOE: Information, Library, and Research Sciences (2021-2024)
Jessica Obermeyer HHS: Communication Sciences and Disorders (2021-2024)
Terry Wicks School of Nursing (2021-2024)
Melody Rood University Libraries (2023-2026)
Vacant Faculty Senate (2023-2024)

Ex-Officio & Non-Voting Members
Raina Barnett University Registrar
Angela Bolte Assistant Dean of the Lloyd International Honors College
Frances Bottenberg Assessment Coordinator, Office of Assessment, Accreditation, and Academic Program Planning
Andrew Hamilton Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs & Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Jodi Pettazzoni Associate Vice Provost & Director of the Office of Assessment, Accreditation, and Academic Program Planning
Dana Saunders Assistant Dean for Advising & Student Success

2022-2023 Meetings & Minutes

MAC Program Implementation