general education mission statement

A UNC Greensboro graduate should combine specialized education in a major with the skills, knowledge, and understanding necessary to be a lifelong learner, an ethical and independent decision maker, a critical and creative thinker, a clear and effective communicator, and a responsible citizen.


The General Education Council is composed of faculty from across the University, representing each of the Schools and Colleges (except the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering).

Council members are appointed by the Provost on the recommendation of the Deans of the various Schools and Colleges. Ex-officio, non-voting members are appointed by the Provost as needed.

Council Members For 2023-24

Jessica McCall (Chair)CAS: Communication Studies(2021-2024)
Hunter BacotCAS: Political Science(2022-2025)
Sarah CervenakCAS: Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies(2023-2026)
Jim ColemanCAS: Biology(2022-2025)
Gary RosenkrantzCAS: Philosophy(2022-2025)
Cindy Brooks DollarCAS: Sociology(2021-2024)
Jeff SarbaumBRY: Economics(2023-2026)
Natalie SowellCVPA: School of Theatre(2021-2024)
Izzet LofcaSOE: Information, Library, and Research Sciences(2021-2024)
Jessica ObermeyerHHS: Communication Sciences and Disorders(2021-2024)
Terry WicksSchool of Nursing(2021-2024)
Melody RoodUniversity Libraries(2023-2026)
Daniel HuebnerFaculty Senate(2023-2024)

Ex-Officio & Non-Voting Members

Raina BarnettUniversity Registrar
Angela BolteAssistant Dean of the Lloyd International Honors College
Andrew HamiltonAssociate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs & Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Jodi PettazzoniAssociate Vice Provost & Director of the Office of Assessment, Accreditation, and Academic Program Planning
Dana SaundersAssistant Dean for Advising & Student Success
Share This